The Center advances dialogue over approaches to constitutional reform and the preservation of democracy.

Home Fellows

Sean Beienburg

Political Science Professor
School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership

Professor Beienburg is interested in the U.S. Constitution, Arizona constitutionalism, federalism and state constitutionalism/politics, and American political thought and development. He directs the Arizona Constitution Project initiative.

Craig Calhoun

Social Sciences Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Professor Calhoun has published widely in social theory, comparative historical sociology, cultural and institutional analysis, and political economy. He focuses on cosmopolitanism and more local belonging, universities and the public good, and infrastructural innovation. His latest book is Degenerations of Democracy.

Zachary Elkins

Associate Professor
Department of Government at The University of Texas at Austin

Professor Elkins focuses on issues of democracy, institutional reform, and national identity. Much of his research is on the origins and consequences of national constitutions. He co-directs both the Comparative Constitutions Project and the Constitute Project website.

Tom Ginsburg

Tom Ginsburg is the Leo Spitz Professor of International Law
University of Chicago

Professor Ginsburg holds an appointment in the Political Science Department, and is also a Research Professor at the American Bar Foundation. He is the author of Democracies and International Law, and How to Save a Constitutional Democracy, winner of the Best Book Prize from the International Society for Constitutional Law.

Miki Kittilson

Assistant dean
College of Global Futures

Professor Kittilson’s scholarship addresses constitutional democracy from a global perspective, comparing the effects of electoral systems and institutions for representation and political engagement.

Robert J. Miller

Willard H. Pedrick Distinguished Research Scholar
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University

Professor Miller is the Chief Justice for the Pascua Yaqui Tribe Court of Appeals and an appellate judge for other tribal courts.He has authored and co-authored five books and written dozens of law review articles on Indian Law issues. He is a citizen of the Eastern Shawnee Tribe.

Erin Scharff

Professor of Law
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law

Scharff’s scholarship focuses on fiscal federalism, including the allocation of revenue authority between state and local governments, local government law, and state tax law. Her publications have appeared in Stanford Law Review, Georgetown Law Journal, New York University Law Review, and the Tax Law Review, among other journals. As an expert on local fiscal authority, Scharff has written several amicus briefs on the legal authority of local governments to raise revenue under state constitutions.

Terry Skolnik

Visiting Research Fellow
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law’s Academy for Justice

Terry Skolnik is a Visiting Research Fellow at The Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law’s Academy for Justice, and at the Center for Constitutional Design.   He is as an Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section. He also co-directs the uOttawa Public Law Centre and organizes the Centre’s criminal law workshop. Terry Skolnik’s research focuses primarily on criminal law theory, criminal procedure, policing, law and behavioral economics, property law, homelessness, and constitutional law.

James Strickland

Assistant professor
School of Politics and Global Studies

Professor Strickland’s research examines how differences in legislative institutions affect the political mobilization and influence of organized interest groups. He is currently researching the influence of organized interest groups at constitutional conventions in eight American states.

Henry Thomson

Political science professor
School of Politics and Global Studies

Originally from New Zealand, Professor Thomson studied political science, economics, international relations and German literature in Oxford, Minneapolis, Berlin and Wellington before moving to Arizona. He focuses on the causes of democratic transitions and the stability democratic and autocratic regimes.

Ilan Wurman

Associate Professor
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law

Ilan Wurman is an associate professor at the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University, where he teaches administrative law and constitutional law. He writes primarily on the Fourteenth Amendment, administrative law, separation of powers, and constitutionalism.

Become a Center for Constitutional Design Fellow

If you’re interested in constitutional design and would like to learn more about becoming a fellow for the Center for Constitutional Design contact us.